Even if you are not on campus, there are many places to find free print books, e-books, comic books, and audio books. Here are a few suggestions.
Book Resources:
- Your local public library - you can access print books, e-books, and audio books there.
- Young Library e-books - current KCU students, staff, and faculty can access e-books listed in the catalog/discovery system using their Library Username and Password. Print books can be checked out by anyone who lives locally.
- Many Books
- Project Gutenberg
- Google Books
- Sites that offer free ebooks and reviews daily
- Goodreads
- https://www.goodreads.com/
- They have many free e-books, particularly fan fiction and have many recommendations and Lists. They also are a great way to track your reading.
- Internet Archive
- archive.org
- Internet Archive digitizes books for checkout so the books available can be published more recently. A 'library card account' can be created for free.
- Open Library
- openlibrary.org
- Sign up for a free account. It works like your neighborhood library. Once you have an account, you can borrow books. They have a physical copy for every digitized book that is available to be checked out
- Librivox
- https://librivox.org/
- Contains free audio books that are available in the public domain and that are read by real people
Comic Book & Manga Resources:
- Manga Online
- Digital Comics Museum
- https://digitalcomicmuseum.com/
- This collection primarily features material from the "Golden Age" of comics - the 1940's and 1950's.
- Much of the content is downloadable!
- Comics Collection on Internet Archive
- https://archive.org/search?query=Comics
- This collection is organized in alphabetical order and has over 179,000 results.
