Several databases are listed under the "Education" heading on the Young Library Databases page. The divisions are in alphabetical order. Scroll down the list until you reach "Education". Any of these databases can be helpful, depending on your topic for your project. Look at the tabs in the "Education Databases-Education subheading" below for a recommendation on which databases to use to begin your research process.
Also note the second box below that gives you two databases in the "General" subheading that also may be helpful to you.
Education Source™ - (Education Source)
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) - (ERIC via Department of Education) is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
The mission of ERIC is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Education research and information are essential to improving teaching, learning, and educational decision-making.
ERIC provides access to 1.5 million bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added every week. A key component of ERIC is its collection of grey literature in education, which is largely available in full text in Adobe PDF format. Approximately one quarter of the complete ERIC Collection is available in full text. Materials with no full text available (primarily journal articles) can often be accessed using links to publisher websites and/or library holdings. ERIC usually includes education related articles in its database. The ERIC Collection, begun in 1966, contains records for a variety of publication types, including:
ERIC (ERIC vis EBSCOHost)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, is an online resource to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. When provided by ERIC, there are links to the ERIC full text or links to other sources such as publisher websites or DOIs. This is one of the vendor databases that provides additional full-text access to some items that are only available as abstracts in the Department of Education's ERIC platform.
Professional Development Collection (Professional Development Collection)
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
Teacher Reference Center (Teacher Reference Center)
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education. This database has excellent resources but there are no full text articles available. All articles from this database will have to be requested through Interlibrary Loan or found as a print resource.
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch contains full text for more than 90,000 articles from nearly 250 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE (Academic Search Complete) -Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. This is an EBSCO platform database.
JSTOR (JSTOR) - JSTOR currently includes more than 2,300 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. Young Library subscribes to several Health/Science collections within this database. These are peer-reviewed materials. E-books are also available in this database.