NUR 405 - Community Health Nursing

What are Databases?

Young Library provides several databases for research.  These databases are collections of articles and some e-books.  These are subscription databases designed for professional research.

Where are they located?

All Young Library databases are located on the library web page.

• Go to the Library web page (https:www.kcu.edu/library)
• Click on the tab labeled "Research" on the left
• Click on the tab at the top labeled "Databases"
• You may use any databases in the "General" subheading section for any assignment.  Also be sure to scroll down the people and look for subject specific databases to utilize in your research process.

Why should I use these databases?

Using subscription databases gives you ways to set limits on your searches.  This will make your results easier to filter.  It is also easier to locate peer-reviewed scholarly research through databases.

Can I use Google Scholar?

Google Scholar can be used in your research.  However, it is not a good starting place, it is much better to use it towards the end of your research process.

Databases at Kentucky Christian University can be collections of articles, videos, or electronic books.  

A list of Databases is provided on the KCU Young Library web page.

• The list is divided by subject areas.
• Select a database in the 'General' area such as Academic Search Complete or select a database from the subject area of your assignment.
• Click on the selected database to open the Advanced Search Screen.

Conducting the Search

1. Look at your Key words that you have identified and select one or two to place in the search boxes.
2. Click on search.
3. The new screen will be the "Results" screen.  If you used broad terms you will get a high number of results.
4. Using the left hand column, select limits to narrow down your results.
   1. Click on "Scholarly (peer-reviewed)"
   2. Click on "Publication date" and change the date range
5. Selecting any of the items in the left hand column will reduce the number of articles for you to read.
6. View the EBSCO advanced search video to view this process in the column on your left.

Conducting the Search

1. Look at your Key words that you have identified and select one or two to place in the search boxes.  Be sure to put quotation around terms that should be found together, for example "Civil War".
2. Click on search.
3. The new screen will be the "Results" screen.  If you used broad terms you will get a high number of results.
4. View the JSTOR video in the column on the left to view this process.