Several databases are listed under the "Nursing" heading on the Young Library Databases page. The divisions are in alphabetical order. Scroll down the list until you reach "Nursing". Any of these databases will be helpful. Look at the tabs in the "Nursing Databases-Nursing subheading" below for a recommendation on which databases to use to begin your research process.
The second box below that gives you two databases in the "General" subheading that also may be helpful to you.
The third box below will give you some suggested Bible and Ministry databases to try that will also help you locate articles on the ethics and moral issues of your topic.
CINAHL® Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database - with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
CINAHL Complete (CINAHL Complete) - CINAHL®Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. This is an EBSCO platform database.
MEDLINE via EBSCOHost (MEDLINE via EBSCOHost) - MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE has the ability to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. This is also an EBSCO platform database. Also note that the 5400 biomedical journals are not nursing only journals.
PubMed (PubMed) - PubMed is an open source database that is maintained by the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It is comprised of more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. It is not an EBSCO platform and can give you many citations that you can then search for in a full text format in Young Library's subscription databases.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (Health Source) - This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Note that this database is searching scholarly journals. Health Source Consumer Edition searches yield results from consumer health magazines not journals.
COCHRANE DATABASES - The Cochrane Database Collection at Young Library consists of 4 databases:
These databases are cutting edge research but should be used cautiously. Many of the articles will require an Interlibrary Loan and many of them are reviews of several current experiments that are occurring in a specific time frame. They can be an excellent way of locating several articles on the same topic.
ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE (Academic Search Complete) -Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. This is an EBSCO platform database.
JSTOR (JSTOR) - JSTOR currently includes more than 2,300 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. Young Library subscribes to several collections within this database for a total of 172 Education titles. These titles include
The Peabody Journal of Education and Education and Culture. These are peer-reviewed materials. E-books are also available in this database.
ATLASerials (ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 620,000 article citations from more than 1,746 journals (575 currently indexed), more than 250,000 essay citations from over 18,000 multi-author works, more than 570,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. In ATLASerials, full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
EBSCO Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO Religion & Philosophy) - Religion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
PROQUEST RELIGION (Proquest Religion) - The Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Gale Biblical Studies Collection (Gale Biblical Studies Collection) - This is a collection consisting of Reference resources.
This database can be searched by subject and identify articles from all of the resources. You can also search within the individual publications.
