BNT 500

What are Databases?

Young Library provides several databases for bible and ministry research.  These databases are collections of articles and some e-books.  These are subscription databases designed for professional research.

Where are they located?

All Young Library databases are located on the library web page.

• Go to the Library web page (https:www.kcu.edu/library)
• Click on the tab labeled "Research" on the left
• Click on the tab at the top labeled "Databases"
• You may use any databases in the "General" subheading section.  Also use the designated databases under "Bible & Ministry"

Why should I use these databases?

 Using subscription databases gives you ways to set limits on your searches.  This will make your results easier to filter.  It is also easier to locate peer-reviewed scholarly research through databases.

Can I use Google Scholar?

Google Scholar can be used in your research.  However, it is not a good starting place, it is much better to use it towards the end of your research process.

TIME SAVER

Time is valuable in online learning.  Time savers will be included whenever possible.

EBSCO platform databases can be searched all at the same time.  This means that you will not have to switch back and forth between some of the different bible and ministry databases.  This is particularly helpful at the beginning of your research process.  To search multiple databases at the same time follow these steps:

1. Click on a database such as Academic Search Complete.
2. Once the Advanced search screen opens, click on the "Choose Databases" link above the search boxes.
3. In the new dialog box, click on the boxes in front of the religion databases.
4. Click on "OK"
5. You will return to the Advanced search screen and can now type in your search terms