Central Africa Christian College e-Library Resources

Exporting your document to Google Drive is a way to save your bibliography to use during the entire research process.  Here are a few additional reasons:

• Your Bibliography will only remain on the site for a total of 6 months.
• The best way to be sure you can access your bibliography at any time and from any location is to save it in a folder on your Google Drive.
• It gives you a way to add on to your Bibliography through the semester without loosing track of your information.

CREATING YOUR BIBLIOGRAPHY DOCUMENT:

This Bibliography can be worked on as often as you like.  However, at the end of each session, you will need to save your Bibliography to a Document.

• Scroll down to just below the word "Export"
• Click on "Copy to Clipboard"
• Go to your Google Drive Research Folder
• Click on "New"
• Click on "Google Docs"
• Select Blank Document
• Type "Bibliography" or "References" or "Works Cited" in the middle of the page
• Double space and then right click and paste your ZoteroBib Bibliography
• Fix your font type and your font size on the ribbon at the top of the page.
• Type in the title that you used for your document in the box where it says "Untitled Document" at the top of the page.

SAVING YOUR BIBLIOGRAPHY IN ZOTERO

You can save your ZoteroBib for up to 6 months.  Please do not skip this step.  It is what allows you to easily work on your Bibliography for longer research projects.

• Continue to scroll down the page on ZoteroBib
• Below the words "Link to this version" click on "Create"
• Click on the Box that says "Copy URL"
• Go back to your document in Google Drive and paste the URL at the bottom of the page of your Bibliography

You can go back and add to your ZoteroBib at any time.

• Open your saved Bibliography document in your Google Drive Research Folder
• Copy and Paste the link at the end of your Bibliography to a new browser window
• Click on "Edit Bibliography" below your list of citations
• A "Clear Existing Bibliography" will pop up.  You will want to click on "Continue".  It will not delete your citations but replace the currently saved version with a new version that you are getting ready to create.
• You will now be able to add additional citations to your bibliography.

WARNING:

When you get ready to stop working on the new Bibliography you will need to Copy to the clipboard and then paste it in your Bibliography document.  You will also need to get a new link to paste at the bottom of the page.

If you change your Bibliography >>> you have to change the link or it will revert to the old version and all of your work will be lost.