There are descriptions of each e-book database below. Some more subject areas than others. These are listed in alphabetical order. Be sure to also scroll to the bottom of the page for resources that focus on Biblical Studies. This will include links to free Bible commentaries.
General E-Book Databases
DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a searchable index of academic, peer-reviewed, open access e-books that includes links to the full text on the publishers' websites.
DPLA - Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) gathers materials form libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States.
HathiTrust - HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
International Children's Digital Library - Offers over 4,000 books that represent outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.
Internet Archive - Offers over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
OAPEN - The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Project Gutenberg - Offers over 70,000 free ebooks, most of which are primary source texts: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Biblical Studies E-Book Databases
Association of Christian Librarians Virtual Theological Library Project (Commentaries) - Collection of freely accessible Commentaries.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library - The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
Princeton Theological Commons - The Theological Commons is a digital library of over 150,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive, it contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present.
Loebolus - Loebolus is based on Edwin Donnelly's “Downloebables” , aiming to make all the public domain Loebs more easily downloadable by re-hosting the PDF's directly.
Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library - free access to over 7,000 resources for ministerial preparation, education, spiritual development, and lifelong learning