There are descriptions of each database below. These are open access journals that are broad and should be able to be used for many of your courses. These are listed in alphabetical order only, they are not in a priority of usage order. The Directory of Open Access Journals currently contains access to 19,273 journal titles and has journals available in over 80 languages. This would be an excellent database to start your research.
General Open Access Databases
Academic Journals - Multi-Subject Database : Academic Journals is a broad-based publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals. Academic Journals currently publishes 111 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.
Brill Full Open Access Journals - Brill is a scholarly publisher with open access, peer-reviewed journals.
CORE - Open Access repository for research papers.
Digital Commons Network - Brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that provides access to over19,000 open access, peer-reviewed journals.
EBSCO Open Dissertations - EBSCO sponsored open access repository for dissertations.
Education Commons - Open access academic research from top universities on the subject of education.
ERIC - an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Be sure to click the box in front of "Full Text Available on ERIC" in order to locate open access articles.
JSTOR Open - Explore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.
OATD - OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions
Open Library of Humanities - International library consortium with the sole mission of advancing open access to research in academic journals across the humanities disciplines. All academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review.
SSOAR - The Social Science Open Access Repository contains both pre- and post-print articles from a wide range of the social sciences. It is certified by the German Initiative for Networked Information (DINI). It has both English and foreign language publications.